REVIEWS

Read SELFi reviews from our incredibly happy customers

The secret to making our customers happy is very simple – offer them the lowest rates to save the most money … and be kind, supportive and diligent every step of the way.

Customer Reviews

5
5.0 rating
5 out of 5 stars (based on 156 reviews)
Excellent99%
Very good1%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%
Leave a review
5.0 rating
August 14, 2020

I recently did a cash-out refi with Ben of my primary home mortgage. Ben was very methodical in explaining the process and clarifying the goals I had. The process itself was one of the most transparent ones that I have seen and Ben was open to continually answer every basic questions or concern I had. Also, there were some delays caused by my HoA that Ben stepped in and unblocked immediately instead of “waiting & updating”. Of course, rates and costs were the other pieces that went per initial plan. Overall, I loved the process and working with Ben and have already recommended him to three other friends.

Sundar S
5.0 rating
August 8, 2020

Joseph made our refinance process incredibly easy and painless. He was always available to answer all questions and got us an interest rate that we were thrilled with. I highly recommend his company and everything about his process. Thank you.

Mike G
5.0 rating
August 8, 2020

SELFi is the real deal. This is not a lead gen business which will sell your personal contact info or pepper you with emails. SELFi quoted an interest rate that hit my goal and provided a credit at close that materially exceeded the all-in cost to refi. SELFi’s APR beat all money center banks even after banks’ reduction in interest rate that is commonly offered in exchange for moving a significant amount of personal assets. SELFi’s founder, Joseph, was a pleasure to work with. He confirmed rate lock the same day I received a quote and estimate. The closing cost were conservatively estimated with actual costs coming in below the estimate. In the past, I’ve used consumer direct online title insurance, and SELFi’s vendor’s cost were lower. I literally spent an hour on the entire refi process (20 min uploading the required documents for income and asset support, 20 min to digitally sign most of the closing docs prior to the mobile notary arriving at our home, and 20 min signing in the presence of the notary. Easiest no-cost refi ever! Don’t hesitate to use SELFi.

Michael M.
5.0 rating
August 6, 2020

Joseph helped us with out refinance of two mortgages. The closing cost were very competitive and the rate we have got on the two loans were unbeatable anywhere else.
There are multiple reasons I am leaving an excellent review for Selfi in general and Joseph in specific:
– Very competitive prices (in term of closing costs) and rates
– Process in my experience of refinance was fast and easy!
– Very helpful. Joseph respond quickly to your concerns. He took the time to explain every single details to the closing cost and the meaning of each item. He is approachable on phone and responsive thru emails.
– He goes beyond his way to save you money. For example, he requested for us waivers for appraisals to reduce cost. Also he did not charge us twice for credit checks and waived some other fees.
-The estimate he gives online is pretty accurate of what you are getting. He does NOT charge fees for an application in order to get that estimate while other companies does charge you application fee even if you do not proceed with the loan.
-On the same note, SELFI site at the beginning of the process does not collect lots of personal information to get you an estimate of closing cost. This is an important point when you start shopping around for the best value in refinance.

Sal Khader
5.0 rating
August 5, 2020

We worked with Joseph to refi our mortgage. The process was virtually painless and we are thrilled with our new loan.

Tim Harendt
5.0 rating
August 5, 2020

This was my first time refinancing and I compared multiple different companies. SELFi was able to secure the best rate at the best price. Dalton and Joseph made the entire process extremely easy. Will happily recommend SELFi to anybody looking to refinance their mortgage.

Jonathan H.
5.0 rating
August 4, 2020

Joseph helped me secure a low rate and provided very good service. Although there was a little issue with the rate lock, it was addressed properly. I’d definitely use SELFi again and recommend them to others.

Bill F.
5.0 rating
August 4, 2020

Worked with Joseph on my refinance. The process was the smoothest ever and I have done 7-8 refinances so far.
Joseph was on top of details and also very easy to work with.
Highly recommended.

Suraj Ayinikatt
5.0 rating
July 31, 2020

Joseph helped me sail through my refinance. My situation was a little tricky, and he helped me navigate all of my options. Would definitely use SELFi again and have recommended them to all my friends!

Maggie M
5.0 rating
July 29, 2020

Our refinance was smooth through SELFi. Joseph was quick with his replies, and it puts you at ease. It really cannot be any easier, trust SELFi to get it done. We will be repeat customers.
Eloy S.

Eloy Sanchez
5.0 rating
July 29, 2020

This is my second refinance with SELFi and Joseph. The service and the rate is the best. I was offered a great rate without any negotiations or discussions. I did shop around for better rates/deals, but no one can match what SELFi offered. Joseph provided a list of required documents at the beginning, which was very reasonable and no additional documents was required. Lender paid almost all the loan costs, which was great! Initial rates and costs were not changed at closing. From application to closing only took just over 2 weeks. The total experience was very satisfying and I would recommend SELFi for anyone looking for mortgage/refinance.

PrasannaW
5.0 rating
July 20, 2020

Joe is very clearly a long-tenured, highly prompt and professional operator in the loan brokerage business. SELFi’s approach to refinancing is no-nonsense, provides immense added value in its simplicity, and achieves the best result possible with minimal effort.
SELFi doesn’t hide current rates behind lengthy information gathering forms or force you to pick up the phone (which is already ringing constantly with tons of unwanted spam calls from other lenders) to get a quote. The rate I was initially quoted was the same rate at closing. Oh and did I mention? That rate was a full twenty basis points lower (!) than the next best rate I could find out there after an extensive search. We are tremendously grateful for the smooth experience, and so happy that we discovered SELFi before locking in with another lender. Highly recommended and will definitely be sending friends to you.

Dan S.
5.0 rating
July 20, 2020

I worked with Joseph and Dalton. They both helped me understand and complete the process. I got a great reduced rate and was able to keep my monthly payments and loan maturity date about the same – And now I have a large cash out amount to fund home improvements that my family and I will enjoy for many years to come. One of the best decisions I’ve ever made!

Ramona Pond
5.0 rating
July 20, 2020

I worked with Selfi to refinance my home mortgage. The process was simple and to the point. Got an amazingly low rate, and Joseph and his associates were very responsive and helpful. Would definitely recommend this process to anyone who is looking to refinance.

Tony R.
5.0 rating
July 18, 2020

Ben was referred to us by a friend. The entire refi process was smooth, simple and easy. Despite the pandemic, there were no hiccups. Ben is super responsive and he is very friendly and easy to work with.

Joe S
5.0 rating
July 17, 2020

Excellent Service! The paperwork was seamless. All my queries were resolved timely and they provided quick updates. The closing process was easy and smooth. I would recommend SELFi !!!

Raghu
5.0 rating
July 15, 2020

I recently refinanced with SELFi and am a happy customer! SELFi is simple and to the point, and you can check the most recent rates online without providing your personal information! Joseph has been such a professional and always provide detailed answers to my questions. I will definitely consider SELfi and Joseph in any future loan/refinance needs.

Jichuan Chang
5.0 rating
July 15, 2020

Joseph worked with me and got me the historically low refi rate. From my experience working with Joseph, I found him extremely responsive, very thorough, respectful, and ethical. It was a large loan amount and completely felt at ease and trusted Joseph every step of the way. The whole process was effortless and quick, at least that was how he made me feel. I am very grateful for his assistance.

Hieu P
5.0 rating
July 13, 2020

We weren’t a slam dunk simple refi, but Joseph was a pleasure to work with and made it easy to understand and get done. Plus, our rate was better than anywhere else we looked. I highly recommend Selfi!

Lori G
5.0 rating
July 13, 2020

The whole process of refinancing can be intimidating and overwhelming for most people but our experience with SELFi, and Joseph went smooth. Joseph was very patient with our questions and made the whole process easier than we thought possible. We will gladly recommend SELFi to anybody who wants to refinance their mortgages. Thanks again, Joseph and the whole SELFi team.

CHONA AND EUGENE
5.0 rating
July 12, 2020

Joseph is very responsive and the loan was closed within the estimated timeline. Everything is online and the process to refinance was very smooth!

Minal
5.0 rating
July 11, 2020

Great info on website, lowest rates on the internet, and fantastic communication with Joseph. Questions were always answered in less than a day, often less than an hour. Small issue with title company was taken care of very quickly. Highly recommended.

Tom N
5.0 rating
July 9, 2020

Awesome service ! Joseph always communicates and keeps me updated . It was a smooth process . Totally recommend Selfi! I had a great rate too ! Thank you !

Lou
5.0 rating
July 2, 2020

We closed a few days ago and the relief knowing that our monthly mortgage was down a couple more hundreds was amazing! Not only that, we got the lowest interest rates we didn’t ever imagine! This is our first time refinancing our home loan and from shopping around and comparing different refinancing companies, I must say that Selfi did a great job! Working with Joseph Flannery made our entire journey very smooth and easy. He is very reassuring and he is very efficient in what he does. The online process and website were very systematic and user friendly. He walked us through the entire process and never left us any question unanswered. This company is highly recommended!

Jonathan and Ailen Arcilla
5.0 rating
June 29, 2020

Just close my refinance few days back. Was looking to refinance my home loan. I was shopping around. Got estimate from other companies and initially went with better.com as they were giving me better rate and credit. I gave deposit to better.com; but even after 2 weeks they did not do appraisal. In the mean time, Joseph contacted me and offered me lower rate and higher credit. I accepted that offer and moved to Selfi. The offer was compensating my deposit with better.com and giving me lower rate. The very next day, appraisal for my property was done. It took 3 weeks to close, after I accepted the offer (better.com did not do my appraisal even after 2 weeks). Throughout the process, Joseph was so responsive and made it smooth. He is honest and will not hide anything from you.
The best part during this refinance process was, everything was done right from our house. The closing agent came to our house and took our signatures :). I would highly recommend Selfi to anyone looking to refinance their loan. For those, who are thinking twice about online refinancing, I would suggest them to do refinance online. It will not only save your time, but also you will get better rate.

Amit Das
5.0 rating
June 24, 2020

I worked with Joseph and the process went very smoothly. He was upfront about all details of the process and quick to respond to any questions I had. The entire process took from start to finish took just 1 month.

Isaac Neibaur
4.0 rating
June 24, 2020

Overall a really easy and quick experience. It was difficult getting quick responses from Dalton or Joseph so you will need to be patient when trying to get immediate answers to questions. There were also a few hiccups with the rate lock but Joseph and Dalton made it right by ensuring I received the credit and rate I requested to lock. I especially appreciated the hybrid closing which allowed for as little wet signatures with the Notary as possible.

Nick Martorano
5.0 rating
June 23, 2020

I first tried to refinance last December using a no-closing-fees site, but they didn’t make it work. I’m glad I waited to refinance with Selfi! I worked with Dalton Dillender through the whole process. Between phone calls, emails, and the Selfi site, the process was well-described and surprisingly simple. Dalton answered all my questions and helped me through the challenge the other company wasn’t able to in December. Being able to refinance has been a huge relief, especially now. Thank you, Dalton, Joseph Flannery and Selfi!

Howie D
5.0 rating
June 17, 2020

I was shopping rates because my current provider’s offer was horrible. I found an outfit in Newport Beach offering attractive rates but with a high APR. So, I did an online search and found SELFI. At first the rate and APR seemed too good to be true… so I did due diligence on Joseph and Dalton. They both checked out. SELFI moved swiftly, they were communicative and they got the me best deal by far of the three lenders I worked with. We closed quickly which was important to me. Joseph found a unique financing option that everyone whom i’ve spoken with, including finance professionals, were remarkably impressed with. The APR ended up less than originally quoted. Fast, effective and professional. I’d do business with these guys again.

Andrew Schwab
5.0 rating
June 17, 2020

If you are trying to find the lowest rate and fees for a mortgage refinance, you must use SELFi.com! I had the most amazing lending experience with them. My loan closed in less than 8 working days from when I submitted my online application. I got the lowest rate I could find. It was probably 0.5% to 1.0% less than other companies, which makes a huge difference in interest paid over the loan. Both Dalton and Joseph were extremely responsive, I got replies within an hour or two each time. Very low closing costs. The best thing about this experience is how transparent the rate/fees/etc are before you even apply, which is super important so you’re not getting lots of hard credit pulls from multiple lenders. Also, other companies I’ve worked with in the past have not been very transparent, then you get to the end, and discover higher fees/rates/etc. I cannot recommend these guys enough. I’m hard to impress and cynical, so I wouldn’t be writing this review if I didn’t fully endorse their product and service. I rely on reviews! The refi DIY information on their website was great also. Thanks guys! I’m now saving $1k per month and have the lowest rate of anyone I know!

Alicia J
5.0 rating
June 16, 2020

Joseph is very helpful and responsive. SelFi empowered me to explore options and make a decision based on my personal situation, and Joseph made all the paperwork super seamless. Highly recommend.

Kavya
5.0 rating
June 16, 2020

Lending standards for self-employed persons changed in the middle of the review of my application, due to COVID-19. Additional documentation was requested, and review was much longer… the refinance took about two months to complete. During this time I was kept apprised of the situation by Dalton and Joseph every week. They advised me to wait for a 15 day lock on my interest rate and that worked out great for me, as interest rates went down 1/4 percent while we waited. Closing costs were a lot less than my last refinance, and I am a happy camper. I would definitely recommend SELFi to others.

Susan W.
5.0 rating
June 15, 2020

Refinancing with SELFi is saving me a substantial amount of money and was a very positive experience, including straightforward online submission of required documents and helpful, prompt personal support from Joseph as needed.

Michael Siepmann
5.0 rating
June 10, 2020

Joseph at Selfi is a great asset to any homeowner looking to refi. The rates are great, his knowledge is great, and we couldn’t have been happier with our experience. He breaks it all down in simple terms, explains options, and has some great ideas to make the process fit exactly what you are looking for. Can’t say enough good things about the process and the great help from Selfi!

Mike
5.0 rating
June 2, 2020

I spent months searching for a company that could offer refinancing with zero or little upfront costs. I considered going with companies like lending tree, better.com and of course the usual big banks and credit unions but quickly realized that I’d be in a world of a mess with spam and credit inquiries after reading through hundreds of reviews. I finally stumbled upon Selfi and loved how transparent the website was. There wasn’t much reviews so of course I was a little hesitant but it didn’t take long for me to have some faith. I decided to plug the trigger and just inquire through the website to see what it was all about (no credit pull, or application submission yet). I immediately received a response from Joseph in less than 15 minutes. Aside from the response time, I was more intrigued with the fact that Joseph wasn’t your typical online sales rep with a noisy background and script-like responses. I loved the fact that Joseph never pushed me to pull my credit or submit any details during our initial conversations, he actually took the time to understand my situation – what I think my credit score is, what I want or plan to do and of course what I’m more comfortable doing. After a few conversations with Joseph I decided to pull an official quote to get a better idea of the numbers. Joseph got back to me in less than 2 hours after I submitted my information and gave me his recommendations. I informed him that I’d need to shop around for due diligence and he of course was more than okay with that. It took me about 4 days to finally come back to Joseph and proceed after comparing with over 8 FIs, CUs and other refi companies. Fast forward and in a nutshell, I got GREAT rates and terms, primarily dealth with Joseph through email (which I love), was given clear and concise details on all the steps involved, enjoyed the fully digital experience of this refinance, never had to leave my house and best of all – I WAS PAID to refinance! I’d highly recommend Selfi to anyone that wants to refinance their mortgage without all the BS. Joseph, thank you so much for your patience and understanding with my refinance. I appreciate all the knowledge and effort you shared, especially since this all happened right when COVID started.

Alan
5.0 rating
June 1, 2020

Last summer I contacted 6 lenders for quotes, SELFi provided the best rate and the streamlined online process made refinance an easy process. When rates fell even further due to poor economic news, SELFi gave me another outstanding price again beating competitors by a mile. Not sure how the experience could be any better. Thanks SELFi!

Lucas L
5.0 rating
May 30, 2020

I recently closed on my loan and was very pleased with the personalized and responsive service I received from Joseph. I received professional advice tailored to my needs. SELFi’s business model is sound, offering very competitive interest rates, lower than the direct lenders offer, through reduced commission/fees and DIY online loan application and processing. In turn, they pass on value to customers in savings. I will definitely consider Selfi again in future mortgage loan needs and will recommend their services.

Louella
5.0 rating
May 29, 2020

This is my first time refinancing and totally have no idea how to go about it. Thankfully I came across Selfi. Dalton Dillender helped me throughout the process, he helped me find the best fit for me to reach my goal. The website is so easy to use and every time I have a question, Dalton is just an e-mail or a text away. I highly recommend this company. Thank you again, Selfi, especially Dalton for all your help!

Leo Soriano
5.0 rating
May 22, 2020

While shopping for rates for a refinance, I came across SELFi. In addition to a great rate and pricing, Joseph was available throughout the process to answer any questions we had and guide us through closing. That commitment to service was a big part of why I chose SELFi for our refi, and I’ll wholeheartedly recommend this service to others. Thanks, Joseph!

Andy
5.0 rating
May 22, 2020

Simple, straight forward process. Received a great cash out refi rate . . . even better than expected! Joseph and his team got the deal done utilizing Joseph’s expertise and relationships to work through an uncommon title issue. Thanks for the great service.

Alan R
5.0 rating
May 10, 2020

It was a pleasure working with Joseph and SELFi. I had started the refinance process with Better.com a few weeks prior to finding SELFi. Right off the bet, SELFi’s rates were lower. My plan was to go to the finish line with both vendors (Better.com and SELFi) to see which would have the best offer. At the end of the day, I was able to use the SELFi offer to negotiate down the rates on Better.com. Even though there was already sunk cost with Better.com for an inspection, I decided to go with SELFi. The reason was that the experience with Joseph was a lot more personal. There was no waiting around wondering when the next step in the process would happen as Joseph kept me informed every step of the way. I have already recommended SELFi to a few friends looking to refinance. Great experience!

Nuno Andrade
5.0 rating
May 7, 2020

Erica worked with me to finance a new home in Oakland and I couldn’t have asked for better. She was knowledgeable, accessible, and always eager to help me get through the process. I would highly recommend her services to anyone and would be glad to work with her again in the future. Thank you Erica! You’re the best!
Danny U.

DANIEL URSINI
5.0 rating
May 6, 2020

The entire SELFi experience was very positive. I stumbled across SELFi on the web, by accident and it was a good thing! They provided an evaluation to a loan that I was, at the time, considering. To make a long story short, SELFi saved me more than 10K in closing costs with a very comparable interest rate!! Everyone on the SELFi team (Dalton and Joseph) was easy to work with and made a complex, convoluted process very easy. Dalton provided valuable insight into some of the mechanics of the loan business and was able to secure a lower rate than I would have received had I gone to the lender directly. Access to and posting documents on the SELFi website was very easy.

DARREN SMITH
5.0 rating
May 6, 2020

Joseph and his team were great – very quick to respond to any questions we had and made the process simple. We got a great rate on our loan that was lower than just about anything advertised. Highly recommended!

Kevin Wallis
5.0 rating
May 6, 2020

A friend recommended Ben to me when they learned my wife and I were considering a refinance and I’m so glad that they did. Working directly with Ben to accomplish our goals was a pleasure. He was available and accessible, patiently answering my MANY questions over the course of the process. The pricing he offered was extremely competitive and transparent. It was clear that he really was an advocate for us to get the best possible rate. What’s more he was friendly and upbeat throughout. Thanks Ben!

Graham
5.0 rating
May 5, 2020

I had a very positive experience working with Joseph Flannery and his online mortgage company, Selfi. I must admit I had some concerns working through a loan application process online, but I found Joseph to be very trust worthy and knowledgeable with an efficient application process. I ended up with a great interest rate and much lower fees that I could find anywhere else, including my bank. I would heartily recommend Joseph and Selfi for mortgage needs.

Gary Burge
5.0 rating
May 5, 2020

This was by far the simplest, most straightforward and transparent mortgage process ever. The rates and fees were excellent and the process was better than anything in the 15+ times I’ve either purchased or refinanced a home.

Dan
5.0 rating
May 2, 2020

I was so happy to have found Selfi on my search to refinance my mortgage. Joseph was prompt, professional, and efficient. I shopped through multiple websites but Joseph gave me an unbeatable rate. I recently closed but have referred Selfi to many of my friends and relatives.

Anna
5.0 rating
April 26, 2020

Joseph made this refi a breeze– less than 4 weeks from first phone call to close. the process was not only fast, but highly efficient– e-tools user friendly and much less paperwork required than other mortgages we have closed in the past 10 years. Lastly, Joseph was highly knowledgeable, super responsive and helped whenever i had questions– 5 stars!

Rick Brenner
5.0 rating
April 18, 2020

I just finished my refinance with SELFi and was very, very happy with the experience. As a point of reference, this refinance was my 5th full, new or refinanced mortgage experience in the last 20 years.
Joseph and Dalton of SELFi were very responsive and available via email, text, and phone as needed. Their site has a lot of great information and something I wish I had available with my previous four mortgage experiences.
Most importantly to myself and probably anyone else trying to figure out who to work with on a new or refinance mortgage, SELFi clearly has the best possible rate/pricing on rates. In fact, I started my refinance process this time around with Better Mortgage, but then a couple of weeks into the process, I discovered SELFi through a Google search.
SELFi’s pricing on rates were significantly lower/better than Better Mortgage and any other site I looked at like Amerisave which I had used in the past. It was clear to me that SELFi, as a smaller organization, has a lot more flexibility and ability to be responsive to individual needs and goals than a large organization like Better Mortgage which has standard rules they are required to follow regardless of one’s specific situation and refinancing goals. On top of all that, SELFi’s application and approval process was much more streamlined, simpler, and faster than Better Mortgage and Amerisave. As a specific example, although I’m sure it is dependent on property address, credit score, and assets, SELFi didn’t require an appraisal for our refinance, saving us over $500 on fees.
Thanks Joseph and Dalton! I highly recommend SELFi for anyone interested in a new or refinance mortgage. They are clearly, by far, the best option out there!

Austin

Join the SELFi marketplace and grow your business. Our marketplace provides direct access to customers looking for solutions, not sales.