REVIEWS

Read SELFi reviews from our incredibly happy customers

The secret to making our customers happy is very simple – offer them the lowest rates to save the most money … and be kind, supportive and diligent every step of the way.

Customer Reviews

5
5.0 rating
5 out of 5 stars (based on 96 reviews)
Excellent100%
Very good0%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%
Leave a review
5.0 rating
August 4, 2020

Joseph helped me secure a low rate and provided very good service. Although there was a little issue with the rate lock, it was addressed properly. I’d definitely use SELFi again and recommend them to others.

Bill F.
5.0 rating
August 4, 2020

Worked with Joseph on my refinance. The process was the smoothest ever and I have done 7-8 refinances so far.
Joseph was on top of details and also very easy to work with.
Highly recommended.

Suraj Ayinikatt
5.0 rating
July 31, 2020

Joseph helped me sail through my refinance. My situation was a little tricky, and he helped me navigate all of my options. Would definitely use SELFi again and have recommended them to all my friends!

Maggie M
5.0 rating
July 29, 2020

Our refinance was smooth through SELFi. Joseph was quick with his replies, and it puts you at ease. It really cannot be any easier, trust SELFi to get it done. We will be repeat customers.
Eloy S.

Eloy Sanchez
5.0 rating
July 29, 2020

This is my second refinance with SELFi and Joseph. The service and the rate is the best. I was offered a great rate without any negotiations or discussions. I did shop around for better rates/deals, but no one can match what SELFi offered. Joseph provided a list of required documents at the beginning, which was very reasonable and no additional documents was required. Lender paid almost all the loan costs, which was great! Initial rates and costs were not changed at closing. From application to closing only took just over 2 weeks. The total experience was very satisfying and I would recommend SELFi for anyone looking for mortgage/refinance.

PrasannaW
5.0 rating
July 20, 2020

Joe is very clearly a long-tenured, highly prompt and professional operator in the loan brokerage business. SELFi’s approach to refinancing is no-nonsense, provides immense added value in its simplicity, and achieves the best result possible with minimal effort.
SELFi doesn’t hide current rates behind lengthy information gathering forms or force you to pick up the phone (which is already ringing constantly with tons of unwanted spam calls from other lenders) to get a quote. The rate I was initially quoted was the same rate at closing. Oh and did I mention? That rate was a full twenty basis points lower (!) than the next best rate I could find out there after an extensive search. We are tremendously grateful for the smooth experience, and so happy that we discovered SELFi before locking in with another lender. Highly recommended and will definitely be sending friends to you.

Dan S.
5.0 rating
July 20, 2020

I worked with Joseph and Dalton. They both helped me understand and complete the process. I got a great reduced rate and was able to keep my monthly payments and loan maturity date about the same – And now I have a large cash out amount to fund home improvements that my family and I will enjoy for many years to come. One of the best decisions I’ve ever made!

Ramona Pond
5.0 rating
July 20, 2020

I worked with Selfi to refinance my home mortgage. The process was simple and to the point. Got an amazingly low rate, and Joseph and his associates were very responsive and helpful. Would definitely recommend this process to anyone who is looking to refinance.

Tony R.
5.0 rating
July 18, 2020

Ben was referred to us by a friend. The entire refi process was smooth, simple and easy. Despite the pandemic, there were no hiccups. Ben is super responsive and he is very friendly and easy to work with.

Joe S
5.0 rating
July 17, 2020

Excellent Service! The paperwork was seamless. All my queries were resolved timely and they provided quick updates. The closing process was easy and smooth. I would recommend SELFi !!!

Raghu
5.0 rating
July 15, 2020

I recently refinanced with SELFi and am a happy customer! SELFi is simple and to the point, and you can check the most recent rates online without providing your personal information! Joseph has been such a professional and always provide detailed answers to my questions. I will definitely consider SELfi and Joseph in any future loan/refinance needs.

Jichuan Chang
5.0 rating
July 15, 2020

Joseph worked with me and got me the historically low refi rate. From my experience working with Joseph, I found him extremely responsive, very thorough, respectful, and ethical. It was a large loan amount and completely felt at ease and trusted Joseph every step of the way. The whole process was effortless and quick, at least that was how he made me feel. I am very grateful for his assistance.

Hieu P
5.0 rating
July 13, 2020

We weren’t a slam dunk simple refi, but Joseph was a pleasure to work with and made it easy to understand and get done. Plus, our rate was better than anywhere else we looked. I highly recommend Selfi!

Lori G
5.0 rating
July 13, 2020

The whole process of refinancing can be intimidating and overwhelming for most people but our experience with SELFi, and Joseph went smooth. Joseph was very patient with our questions and made the whole process easier than we thought possible. We will gladly recommend SELFi to anybody who wants to refinance their mortgages. Thanks again, Joseph and the whole SELFi team.

CHONA AND EUGENE
5.0 rating
July 12, 2020

Joseph is very responsive and the loan was closed within the estimated timeline. Everything is online and the process to refinance was very smooth!

Minal
5.0 rating
July 11, 2020

Great info on website, lowest rates on the internet, and fantastic communication with Joseph. Questions were always answered in less than a day, often less than an hour. Small issue with title company was taken care of very quickly. Highly recommended.

Tom N
5.0 rating
July 9, 2020

Awesome service ! Joseph always communicates and keeps me updated . It was a smooth process . Totally recommend Selfi! I had a great rate too ! Thank you !

Lou
5.0 rating
July 2, 2020

We closed a few days ago and the relief knowing that our monthly mortgage was down a couple more hundreds was amazing! Not only that, we got the lowest interest rates we didn’t ever imagine! This is our first time refinancing our home loan and from shopping around and comparing different refinancing companies, I must say that Selfi did a great job! Working with Joseph Flannery made our entire journey very smooth and easy. He is very reassuring and he is very efficient in what he does. The online process and website were very systematic and user friendly. He walked us through the entire process and never left us any question unanswered. This company is highly recommended!

Jonathan and Ailen Arcilla
5.0 rating
June 29, 2020

Just close my refinance few days back. Was looking to refinance my home loan. I was shopping around. Got estimate from other companies and initially went with better.com as they were giving me better rate and credit. I gave deposit to better.com; but even after 2 weeks they did not do appraisal. In the mean time, Joseph contacted me and offered me lower rate and higher credit. I accepted that offer and moved to Selfi. The offer was compensating my deposit with better.com and giving me lower rate. The very next day, appraisal for my property was done. It took 3 weeks to close, after I accepted the offer (better.com did not do my appraisal even after 2 weeks). Throughout the process, Joseph was so responsive and made it smooth. He is honest and will not hide anything from you.
The best part during this refinance process was, everything was done right from our house. The closing agent came to our house and took our signatures :). I would highly recommend Selfi to anyone looking to refinance their loan. For those, who are thinking twice about online refinancing, I would suggest them to do refinance online. It will not only save your time, but also you will get better rate.

Amit Das
5.0 rating
June 24, 2020

I worked with Joseph and the process went very smoothly. He was upfront about all details of the process and quick to respond to any questions I had. The entire process took from start to finish took just 1 month.

Isaac Neibaur
4.0 rating
June 24, 2020

Overall a really easy and quick experience. It was difficult getting quick responses from Dalton or Joseph so you will need to be patient when trying to get immediate answers to questions. There were also a few hiccups with the rate lock but Joseph and Dalton made it right by ensuring I received the credit and rate I requested to lock. I especially appreciated the hybrid closing which allowed for as little wet signatures with the Notary as possible.

Nick Martorano
5.0 rating
June 23, 2020

I first tried to refinance last December using a no-closing-fees site, but they didn’t make it work. I’m glad I waited to refinance with Selfi! I worked with Dalton Dillender through the whole process. Between phone calls, emails, and the Selfi site, the process was well-described and surprisingly simple. Dalton answered all my questions and helped me through the challenge the other company wasn’t able to in December. Being able to refinance has been a huge relief, especially now. Thank you, Dalton, Joseph Flannery and Selfi!

Howie D
5.0 rating
June 17, 2020

I was shopping rates because my current provider’s offer was horrible. I found an outfit in Newport Beach offering attractive rates but with a high APR. So, I did an online search and found SELFI. At first the rate and APR seemed too good to be true… so I did due diligence on Joseph and Dalton. They both checked out. SELFI moved swiftly, they were communicative and they got the me best deal by far of the three lenders I worked with. We closed quickly which was important to me. Joseph found a unique financing option that everyone whom i’ve spoken with, including finance professionals, were remarkably impressed with. The APR ended up less than originally quoted. Fast, effective and professional. I’d do business with these guys again.

Andrew Schwab
5.0 rating
June 17, 2020

If you are trying to find the lowest rate and fees for a mortgage refinance, you must use SELFi.com! I had the most amazing lending experience with them. My loan closed in less than 8 working days from when I submitted my online application. I got the lowest rate I could find. It was probably 0.5% to 1.0% less than other companies, which makes a huge difference in interest paid over the loan. Both Dalton and Joseph were extremely responsive, I got replies within an hour or two each time. Very low closing costs. The best thing about this experience is how transparent the rate/fees/etc are before you even apply, which is super important so you’re not getting lots of hard credit pulls from multiple lenders. Also, other companies I’ve worked with in the past have not been very transparent, then you get to the end, and discover higher fees/rates/etc. I cannot recommend these guys enough. I’m hard to impress and cynical, so I wouldn’t be writing this review if I didn’t fully endorse their product and service. I rely on reviews! The refi DIY information on their website was great also. Thanks guys! I’m now saving $1k per month and have the lowest rate of anyone I know!

Alicia J
5.0 rating
June 16, 2020

Joseph is very helpful and responsive. SelFi empowered me to explore options and make a decision based on my personal situation, and Joseph made all the paperwork super seamless. Highly recommend.

Kavya
5.0 rating
June 16, 2020

Lending standards for self-employed persons changed in the middle of the review of my application, due to COVID-19. Additional documentation was requested, and review was much longer… the refinance took about two months to complete. During this time I was kept apprised of the situation by Dalton and Joseph every week. They advised me to wait for a 15 day lock on my interest rate and that worked out great for me, as interest rates went down 1/4 percent while we waited. Closing costs were a lot less than my last refinance, and I am a happy camper. I would definitely recommend SELFi to others.

Susan W.
5.0 rating
June 15, 2020

Refinancing with SELFi is saving me a substantial amount of money and was a very positive experience, including straightforward online submission of required documents and helpful, prompt personal support from Joseph as needed.

Michael Siepmann
5.0 rating
June 10, 2020

Joseph at Selfi is a great asset to any homeowner looking to refi. The rates are great, his knowledge is great, and we couldn’t have been happier with our experience. He breaks it all down in simple terms, explains options, and has some great ideas to make the process fit exactly what you are looking for. Can’t say enough good things about the process and the great help from Selfi!

Mike
5.0 rating
June 2, 2020

I spent months searching for a company that could offer refinancing with zero or little upfront costs. I considered going with companies like lending tree, better.com and of course the usual big banks and credit unions but quickly realized that I’d be in a world of a mess with spam and credit inquiries after reading through hundreds of reviews. I finally stumbled upon Selfi and loved how transparent the website was. There wasn’t much reviews so of course I was a little hesitant but it didn’t take long for me to have some faith. I decided to plug the trigger and just inquire through the website to see what it was all about (no credit pull, or application submission yet). I immediately received a response from Joseph in less than 15 minutes. Aside from the response time, I was more intrigued with the fact that Joseph wasn’t your typical online sales rep with a noisy background and script-like responses. I loved the fact that Joseph never pushed me to pull my credit or submit any details during our initial conversations, he actually took the time to understand my situation – what I think my credit score is, what I want or plan to do and of course what I’m more comfortable doing. After a few conversations with Joseph I decided to pull an official quote to get a better idea of the numbers. Joseph got back to me in less than 2 hours after I submitted my information and gave me his recommendations. I informed him that I’d need to shop around for due diligence and he of course was more than okay with that. It took me about 4 days to finally come back to Joseph and proceed after comparing with over 8 FIs, CUs and other refi companies. Fast forward and in a nutshell, I got GREAT rates and terms, primarily dealth with Joseph through email (which I love), was given clear and concise details on all the steps involved, enjoyed the fully digital experience of this refinance, never had to leave my house and best of all – I WAS PAID to refinance! I’d highly recommend Selfi to anyone that wants to refinance their mortgage without all the BS. Joseph, thank you so much for your patience and understanding with my refinance. I appreciate all the knowledge and effort you shared, especially since this all happened right when COVID started.

Alan
5.0 rating
June 1, 2020

Last summer I contacted 6 lenders for quotes, SELFi provided the best rate and the streamlined online process made refinance an easy process. When rates fell even further due to poor economic news, SELFi gave me another outstanding price again beating competitors by a mile. Not sure how the experience could be any better. Thanks SELFi!

Lucas L
5.0 rating
May 30, 2020

I recently closed on my loan and was very pleased with the personalized and responsive service I received from Joseph. I received professional advice tailored to my needs. SELFi’s business model is sound, offering very competitive interest rates, lower than the direct lenders offer, through reduced commission/fees and DIY online loan application and processing. In turn, they pass on value to customers in savings. I will definitely consider Selfi again in future mortgage loan needs and will recommend their services.

Louella
5.0 rating
May 29, 2020

This is my first time refinancing and totally have no idea how to go about it. Thankfully I came across Selfi. Dalton Dillender helped me throughout the process, he helped me find the best fit for me to reach my goal. The website is so easy to use and every time I have a question, Dalton is just an e-mail or a text away. I highly recommend this company. Thank you again, Selfi, especially Dalton for all your help!

Leo Soriano
5.0 rating
May 22, 2020

While shopping for rates for a refinance, I came across SELFi. In addition to a great rate and pricing, Joseph was available throughout the process to answer any questions we had and guide us through closing. That commitment to service was a big part of why I chose SELFi for our refi, and I’ll wholeheartedly recommend this service to others. Thanks, Joseph!

Andy
5.0 rating
May 22, 2020

Simple, straight forward process. Received a great cash out refi rate . . . even better than expected! Joseph and his team got the deal done utilizing Joseph’s expertise and relationships to work through an uncommon title issue. Thanks for the great service.

Alan R
5.0 rating
May 10, 2020

It was a pleasure working with Joseph and SELFi. I had started the refinance process with Better.com a few weeks prior to finding SELFi. Right off the bet, SELFi’s rates were lower. My plan was to go to the finish line with both vendors (Better.com and SELFi) to see which would have the best offer. At the end of the day, I was able to use the SELFi offer to negotiate down the rates on Better.com. Even though there was already sunk cost with Better.com for an inspection, I decided to go with SELFi. The reason was that the experience with Joseph was a lot more personal. There was no waiting around wondering when the next step in the process would happen as Joseph kept me informed every step of the way. I have already recommended SELFi to a few friends looking to refinance. Great experience!

Nuno Andrade
5.0 rating
May 7, 2020

Erica worked with me to finance a new home in Oakland and I couldn’t have asked for better. She was knowledgeable, accessible, and always eager to help me get through the process. I would highly recommend her services to anyone and would be glad to work with her again in the future. Thank you Erica! You’re the best!
Danny U.

DANIEL URSINI
5.0 rating
May 6, 2020

The entire SELFi experience was very positive. I stumbled across SELFi on the web, by accident and it was a good thing! They provided an evaluation to a loan that I was, at the time, considering. To make a long story short, SELFi saved me more than 10K in closing costs with a very comparable interest rate!! Everyone on the SELFi team (Dalton and Joseph) was easy to work with and made a complex, convoluted process very easy. Dalton provided valuable insight into some of the mechanics of the loan business and was able to secure a lower rate than I would have received had I gone to the lender directly. Access to and posting documents on the SELFi website was very easy.

DARREN SMITH
5.0 rating
May 6, 2020

Joseph and his team were great – very quick to respond to any questions we had and made the process simple. We got a great rate on our loan that was lower than just about anything advertised. Highly recommended!

Kevin Wallis
5.0 rating
May 6, 2020

A friend recommended Ben to me when they learned my wife and I were considering a refinance and I’m so glad that they did. Working directly with Ben to accomplish our goals was a pleasure. He was available and accessible, patiently answering my MANY questions over the course of the process. The pricing he offered was extremely competitive and transparent. It was clear that he really was an advocate for us to get the best possible rate. What’s more he was friendly and upbeat throughout. Thanks Ben!

Graham
5.0 rating
May 5, 2020

I had a very positive experience working with Joseph Flannery and his online mortgage company, Selfi. I must admit I had some concerns working through a loan application process online, but I found Joseph to be very trust worthy and knowledgeable with an efficient application process. I ended up with a great interest rate and much lower fees that I could find anywhere else, including my bank. I would heartily recommend Joseph and Selfi for mortgage needs.

Gary Burge
5.0 rating
May 5, 2020

This was by far the simplest, most straightforward and transparent mortgage process ever. The rates and fees were excellent and the process was better than anything in the 15+ times I’ve either purchased or refinanced a home.

Dan
5.0 rating
May 2, 2020

I was so happy to have found Selfi on my search to refinance my mortgage. Joseph was prompt, professional, and efficient. I shopped through multiple websites but Joseph gave me an unbeatable rate. I recently closed but have referred Selfi to many of my friends and relatives.

Anna
5.0 rating
April 26, 2020

Joseph made this refi a breeze– less than 4 weeks from first phone call to close. the process was not only fast, but highly efficient– e-tools user friendly and much less paperwork required than other mortgages we have closed in the past 10 years. Lastly, Joseph was highly knowledgeable, super responsive and helped whenever i had questions– 5 stars!

Rick Brenner
5.0 rating
April 18, 2020

I just finished my refinance with SELFi and was very, very happy with the experience. As a point of reference, this refinance was my 5th full, new or refinanced mortgage experience in the last 20 years.
Joseph and Dalton of SELFi were very responsive and available via email, text, and phone as needed. Their site has a lot of great information and something I wish I had available with my previous four mortgage experiences.
Most importantly to myself and probably anyone else trying to figure out who to work with on a new or refinance mortgage, SELFi clearly has the best possible rate/pricing on rates. In fact, I started my refinance process this time around with Better Mortgage, but then a couple of weeks into the process, I discovered SELFi through a Google search.
SELFi’s pricing on rates were significantly lower/better than Better Mortgage and any other site I looked at like Amerisave which I had used in the past. It was clear to me that SELFi, as a smaller organization, has a lot more flexibility and ability to be responsive to individual needs and goals than a large organization like Better Mortgage which has standard rules they are required to follow regardless of one’s specific situation and refinancing goals. On top of all that, SELFi’s application and approval process was much more streamlined, simpler, and faster than Better Mortgage and Amerisave. As a specific example, although I’m sure it is dependent on property address, credit score, and assets, SELFi didn’t require an appraisal for our refinance, saving us over $500 on fees.
Thanks Joseph and Dalton! I highly recommend SELFi for anyone interested in a new or refinance mortgage. They are clearly, by far, the best option out there!

Austin
5.0 rating
April 17, 2020

Working with Joseph Flannery for my refinance was a great experience. At the first encounter, I was very impressed that the founder of the company, Joseph, called me within 10 minutes after I requested info on his website, and that was after normal work hours. Since then and all throughout the loan application process, he was very prompt at returning calls and emails, as well as answering any questions I had.

When I started searching online for my refinance need, I came across SELFI, a company I had never heard of, and what the website promises seemed too good to be true. Now that my loan is closed I can say for sure it is true. Joseph offered me a loan no other companies I had talked to could beat. It has the best rate with least amount of closing fees. In fact, the only fees I had to pay out of my pocket were appraisal and prepaid taxes and insurance.
And believe me, I know the difference between a good loan and a not-so-good loan because I had in the past applied and closed on multiple loans (for home purchase or refinance).
One little thing I have to say is the way the lender credit is offered (calculated) is a bit confusing, but at the end I got the credits he promised and that’s what matters.
Overall, I am very happy with the loan and the service I received, and I highly recommend Joseph Flannery. He works very hard and he is honest about what he offers. If you are shopping for a loan now, give Joseph and SELFI a try.

Robin Shum
5.0 rating
April 9, 2020

Ben made the entire refinance process easy, effective and transparent. Each step was intuitive and he readily answered any questions we had. We were quoted an unbeatable rate with no surprises. Ben really has created a model that other companies would be wise to replicate- putting the power back with the borrower in an open, transparent and fair way.

Zach
5.0 rating
April 7, 2020

I have financed dozens of properties over the years. My experience with SELFi was one of the best, if not the best, real estate finance experiences of my life. Joseph Flannery is not only a great real estate loan adviser, but he is also a class act individual. Your search is over, call Joseph now.

Brian Puckett
5.0 rating
April 2, 2020

Working with Joseph and his team was great. They not only found us the best rates anywhere, but they were also super responsive, took time to walk me through all the scenarios, gave great advice, and were always 100% ‘on top of it’. Hugely appreciated their help! The process was simply, seamless, and they even moved up our close date when we requested to. Thank you Joseph, Dalton, and the Selfi team!!

T & L Ramos
5.0 rating
April 2, 2020

Refinance?! Sounds complicated. My wife and I were initially hesitant to embark on the process of refinancing and then we had a conversation with Ben. He was incredibly measured, described the entire process in detail and promised a rate that was incredibly attractive. He delivered on everything. The process was smooth and we were amazed at how quickly things moved. Within a few weeks we were able to complete the process and are now saving almost 15% a month. Booyah!

Adam
5.0 rating
April 1, 2020

First time refinancing my home and it couldn’t have been any easier. When I originally bought my home, working with my mortgage company was a nightmare. My experience this time was the complete opposite. Ben was able to lower my interest rate by over 1.5% and was very thorough throughout the entire process. He kept me updated on the market and was able to provide pertinent information before we decided to close.

Chris Boscacci
5.0 rating
March 27, 2020

Joseph was always quick to respond to all my questions. The entire refinance process was a breeze and the SELFi client portal made all the document viewing and signing very simple. Joseph got us a better rate than all other brokers that I compared. I highly recommend him and SELFi.

Drew Kelly
5.0 rating
March 25, 2020

It’s no wonder Joseph has nothing but 5-star reviews. I have never had an easier experience than with Selfi.
I’ve always turned to my credit union for mortgages, but they wanted $10k in closing costs at a higher rate and APR. Through Selfi and Joseph, I got the best rates without a bunch of hidden fees, the application and verification process is all web based, the Quicken Loans site was easy to navigate, timely notifications via email, fast response to questions, you name it and Joseph does a better job than the rest and in record time.
I had never heard of Selfi and was a bit cautious at first, but I couldn’t be happier that I discovered them through a web search.
Thank you Joseph, you’re the rock star of mortgages.

Rob
5.0 rating
March 21, 2020

Joseph did a great job assisting in this process. He is a professional, knowledgeable and a joy to work with. He is straight forward and guides you through the refinance process and saves you money on closing costs. I had contacted the same lender and the closing costs were considerably higher but Joseph managed to negotiate lower closing costs
by asking for some to be eliminated. He goes to bat for you.
He makes this process as painless as possible. I Highly recommend his services.
Thanks again Joseph, you are the best!
Irvine, CA

Irvine, CA
5.0 rating
March 21, 2020

I had refinanced just a few months earlier before I was put in touch with Ben. Initially I was a bit skeptical that he could get the new loan at the promised rate for “no costs”. However, as the disclosures started coming in it became apparent that that’s exactly what was happening. The process, almost entirely electronic, was completely painless, and from initial loan application to the signing of loan docs took barely two weeks. As someone who has refinanced many times over the years, I was thoroughly impressed with Ben’s professionalism and the product he delivered as promised!

Mark
5.0 rating
March 13, 2020

I came across SELFi by chance searching for rates when refinancing. Joseph made everything much easier than traditional lenders and got us a rate better than the one we were trying to match! And we were actually done with our refi before other lenders even got back to us on matching rates. Joseph was super responsive and transparent throughout the whole process, and offered sound advice. Everything was seamless via email, online tools, and phone when I chose. Definitely will come back next time. Highly recommended!!

Rosemary
5.0 rating
March 10, 2020

Found SELFi from searching the internet. The process was WAY EASIER than i have ever experienced in the past. Everything was done online, everything electronically, and everything was FAST and EASY. The only thing not online was the notary which comes to your home and uses an Ipad to sign everything.

Randy Tanaka
5.0 rating
March 10, 2020

Lowest rates we can find – by a LOT! Beat all other mortgage providers even Costco vendors! Found SELFi accidentally when searching for refinance quotes. Joseph helped us and answered all the questions and concerns. Quick, efficient, and professional. Best experience we could have imagined. Definitely Highly Highly recommended 🙂

Sheryl
5.0 rating
March 4, 2020

Fantastic experience. No other mortgage broker was able to come close to the offer I received from SELFi. The initial estimate was spot on in the end.

Keyon
5.0 rating
March 3, 2020

Selfi gave me the best total package, hands down. Joseph was responsive, easy to work with, and transparent throughout the process. I would recommend Selfi to anyone interested in refinancing.

Greg
5.0 rating
March 1, 2020

I have financed/refinanced a home 5 times over my life. The experience with Joseph and Selfi was by far the fastest and easiest… i am shocked! We closed our new mortgage about 20 days after reaching out to Joseph via yelp.
After reading great reviews, i contacted him via yelp. We sent a few notes back and forth that afternoon, and on my way home from work we had a conference call. By that evening, he had sent me the loan details and application. 24 hours later we had approval from quicken loans. The appraiser came 2 days later, and we never slowed down from there. So easy, great person to work with and extremely responsive. Highly recommend!

Brent
5.0 rating
February 19, 2020

I came across Joseph and SELFi while researching another discount mortgage broker.
I have always gone the traditional route when buying or refinancing and was a little exhausted by the process. I was intrigued by SELFi’s claim that they could beat most any rate as I thought the company I was looking at was making a really good offer and had great reviews themselves. Not only did Joseph beat the rate, but he did it with negative points, giving me a free refi and getting a little cash back.
The process was quick and painless. I had many questions, this being my first internet mortgage experience. Joseph answered them quickly and professionally. In just a few short weeks I was sitting with a closing agent in the comfort of my own home. I lowered my rate by .5125 points on a loan I had just closed on a few months prior.
I would have no problem referring Joseph and SELFi to my closest friends and family!

Scott Real
5.0 rating
February 15, 2020

So, where do I begin…we have used Joseph & his services on numerous occasions & he doesn’t disappoint! Every single time he has been professional, knowledgeable & his responsiveness is top notch. Everyone is busy right? Joseph respected our time and worked hard for us to get the deal done in a timely manner & also ensured we got the best deal. Most correspondence was handled online & via email, however, he was available to talk via phone upon our request. Thank you Joseph for always taking care of us.

Shrita
5.0 rating
February 12, 2020

My husband and I were looking to refinance and take some equity from our home. I wanted to get a great rate and minimize the number of calls from multiple lenders. I stumbled across SELFi online and loved the website, rates, and ease of use. We initiated the loan, Joseph immediately responded and worked with us through the process. He kept in constant contact with us, responded quickly (even on weekends) and made the process painless. It was fast, and with everything handled digitally extremely easy for our busy family. Thanks Joseph and SELFi for being a great partner and helping expedite our REFI so quickly.

Monica
5.0 rating
February 9, 2020

Just finalized my refinance with Joseph at SELFi. He helped me determine the best scenario for me with what I wanted to accomplish. I had tried to Refi directly with Quicken and they denied me. When Joseph contacted me he was confident he could help me. At first I was doubtful, but Joseph was very committed to delivering what he promised and even exceeded expectations. The process was all done online and via email and was so seamless I still can’t believe it’s completed. I will definitely use Joseph and SELFi again and would highly recommend him and SELFi to anyone.

Janay
5.0 rating
February 7, 2020

SELFi was recommended to me by a friend ant work and now I am recommending them to my friends. Joseph delivered on all fronts: great communication, great interest rate, and great price. Very pleased!

Tanner
5.0 rating
January 31, 2020

I was very impressed with the manner in which Joseph handled my refinance. He was prompt and efficient in getting me a refinance in a short period of time with a rate that was far better than I could have imagined. Thank you SELFI!

Lucia Gomez
5.0 rating
January 30, 2020

Joseph has been amazing through the whole process! I contacted him the first time on a Saturday afternoon. He replied right away and my loan was through underwriting by Monday! He was super responsive with everything and his rates cannot be beaten! Highly recommended!

Jordan Wise
5.0 rating
January 26, 2020

I don’t typically give reviews, but felt compelled here. Wow! Joseph is amazing. I spent weeks searching for rates and had a friend “in the business” help me get a rate. Not only did Selfi blow them out of the water with its rates, but Joseph was an absolute pleasure to work with. Very responsive, extremely helpful advice throughout the process, and, for those who prefer to work by email instead of phone, he did all the work without a single phone call! I wish I could give 10 stars! I’ve already referred him to some friends and family. Thanks again for all your help!

Kris
5.0 rating
December 29, 2019

We had a great experience refinancing with SELFi! From the beginning, I love the transparency of being able to get a decent interest rate quote directly on the SELFi website. And, no one else we talked to was able to beat SELFi’s rates. Joseph was very knowledgeable, responsive and attentive to detail through the whole process. We felt well taken care of with SELFi, and are very satisfied with the whole process.

Andrew
5.0 rating
December 28, 2019

A coworker referred me to Joseph at SELFi. I was amazed at how easy and fast the process was. Joseph was always there to answer any questions that I had. He was also able to get me a great rate. Much lower than my bank was offering me! Thanks Joseph!!

Cheryl
5.0 rating
December 14, 2019

I work for myself so don’t have W-2’s to *legitimize* my finances. I looked around for almost 3 years before I was able to find someone who was NOT a hard money or *portfolio* lender wiling to give me a loan.
I was used to being quoted 5.8-7% interest, so when Joseph came in with a rate in the 4’s, I frankly didn’t believe it.
Though he was VERY responsive and patient, my realtor and I still couldn’t believe that he could get rates FROM Quicken, UNDER what Quicken quoted me directly, so we were wary of the whole process until it came through.
Seriously. I don’t know if anyone knows what it’s like to HAVE money, but to not be able to SUBSTANTIATE the money, and though doing so required a lot of paperwork, it all went as smoothly as anyone could’ve hoped.
Because my house purchase was *unique*, the close had to happen quickly, and we contacted him FIFTEEN business days before we needed to close, AND over the holidays (Nov19-Dec-12) and he made it happen with a day to spare and we closed EARLIER than our agreed upon date.
Now I wouldn’t recommend going to him last minute like I did, because I’m sure I was a NIGHTMARE client (SO much paperwork, SO MUCH back and forth to legitimize my finances), so if you’re just a *regular* person in search of a loan, you’ve found your Unicorn in SELFi!
Thanks Joseph!!

Danae
5.0 rating
December 7, 2019

My wife and I have used SELFi for our mortgage needs on two separate occasions. Both times we were in very different financial situations. Joseph creatively discussed our options and came up with specific solutions to meet our needs. Joseph made a typically stressful situation relatively easy. We can’t wait to do business with Joseph again.

David Kukesh
5.0 rating
December 2, 2019

Joseph’s services came highly recommended by a coworker. He did not disappoint. The whole process was seamless, clearly stated and all our questions and concerns were answered very fast.
We got a great rate on a 15 year, fixed mortgage. We will recommend his services to friends and family.

Rosibel
5.0 rating
November 10, 2019

My wife and I were looking to reduce our interest rate and lower our monthly payments on our Mortgage. Once we decided to go ahead and refinance, Joe kept us up to date on the daily fluctuations of the rates and made understanding the process simple. He answered all of our questions in a timely manner and spoke with us on the phone many times throughout the process when we requested it. We ended up lowering our monthly payment by $400 a month.
Thanks Joe & SELFi!

Brad & Stacy
5.0 rating
October 31, 2019

We just completed a refinance and highly recommend working with Joseph. He got us a great rate, saving us a significant amount of money every month.Every step of the process was very easy and Joseph was always available to answer questions.

Stephanie C.
5.0 rating
October 24, 2019

The rates through SELFi were much lower that we could get anywhere else. It was a very seamless process from beginning to end. All steps were clearly laid out for us and, on our end, really took very little effort to refinance. All questions were quickly answered and we felt supported every step of the way.

Tracy Weis
5.0 rating
October 22, 2019

It was super easy working with Joseph. He kept me in the loop during the whole process and we spent some time before I applied on the phone to answer a few questions. The refinance process itself was simple from begin to end. I was very happy with our rate and received a credit to help with property taxes that I know are about to go up. The rate itself was around .5% cheaper than others I shopped for. The day of the close was also easy as the notary actually came to our house and that only took around 25 minutes. I definitely recommend SELFi and Joseph for your refinance and loan needs.

Craig O
5.0 rating
October 14, 2019

I’ve shopped around and this is the BEST rate for my loan(30 yr fixed rate non jumbo loan). Better Mortgage was unable to match the offer.
Joseph is super responsive and very patient. I would definitely recommend all my friends who want to refinance to use SELFi.

Melissa
5.0 rating
September 11, 2019

I was not happy with the rate I quoted from my previous lender regarding my refinance, so I tried my luck searching other possibilities online. I chose SELFi rather than other online mortgage companies because SELFi was different from them- SELFi focusing on educating people rather than just promoting their products/better rates. I learnt how refinance works, how the business model is, how they made their rate competitive on the market and decided to give it a try. I have to say that’s the best financial choice I made in 2019 so far. With the help with Joseph, I closed my refinance smoothly within one month. Joseph was honest, patient, and very professional when answering my questions. I already recommend SELFi to my colleagues and friends in case they need help with refinance.

Wanjie Zhao
5.0 rating
September 7, 2019

As others have attested to, working with Joseph Flannery was awesome! I was looking to refinance, and Joseph provided me with many options, explaining all of the factors to consider when choosing to either 1) pay points for lower interest rates, or 2) cover closing costs, with a lender credit, for higher interest rates. We played scenarios to the end many times, and Joseph was very patient when I had many questions, including some I asked two, three, or four times to make sure I understood his response and the different financial implications of potential decisions. Most importantly, working with Joseph resulted in getting the best interest rate for the best price — by far! I ended up closing with Quicken. While working with SELFi, Quicken reached out offering to refinance directly (without SELFi/Joseph as the broker). Here’s the kicker – the rate I was offered through SELFi was much lower than that the rate Quicken offered directly (I believe it was .5% lower). And I payed less up front! In other words, I was able to receive a lender credit to cover some of my closing costs, and still received a lower interest rate that Quicken was offering me directly, and their direct offer did not include a lender credit. Working with SELFi was truly the best home buying/refi experience I have had, and I highly recommend working with SELFI and Joseph if you are looking to purchase or refinance!

Ardavan Davaran
5.0 rating
September 3, 2019

I came across the SELFi site, and when I saw the advertised rates, I thought they we’re to good to be true. After some checking, it was in fact the real deal. I just completed a refi in May, and made one payment on that loan since refi’ing again with SELFi. Let me say, this was by far the easiest, most streamlined, fasted refi I have ever done. Joe is amazing, and the companies he’s doing business with are just as efficient!

Rob H
5.0 rating
August 29, 2019

I was referred to selfi and had the best experience I have ever had refinancing a mortgage. I recommend selfi to anyone looking for a straight forward process with great service.

Scott Wagner
5.0 rating
August 24, 2019

I accidentally stumbled onto Selfi after speaking to about 15 other lenders. Bored one evening, I was researching other online options– our of sheer curiousity. Their story was incredible, so I figured I would begin the process. I completed an application through the website and my purchase was complex. Joe followed up with me directly, I laid out my entire situation with him, and he walked me through the entire process.
To be clear, I worked with Selfi as a first time home buyer. So I needed a level of comfort and knowledge to proceed. Selfi is without question, the best loan provider on the planet. (after I spoke to 15 other lenders).
Their service is excellent, their knowledge is top quality and I was extremely comfortable with the entire process. I worked with Joe directly, and he has been everything you would dream of. Thank you Joe for your help in support with our complex first-time home purchase.

Matt B.
5.0 rating
August 22, 2019

I was shopping for the best deal for my refinance with few leading lenders including Chase, Better.com, BlueBrick, etc. But SELFi gave me the best rate, lowest PMI and the best service. The process was very easy and they required minimal number of documents. All my communications were done through emails. I had to deal with only Joseph throughout the process. He was very informative and helped me to understand finer points in refinancing. The numbers provided in the initial loan estimate was never raised as in many other lenders, in fact it came down after the appraisal. I feel this one of the most transparent services in the market. Overall the process was extremely smooth. I am extremely satisfied with SELFi and would recommend this to anyone.

Prasanna W
5.0 rating
July 18, 2019

I always say that buying a house is one of the most stressful things you can do in your life, not only because it is a huge life choice and change, but also because nobody in the process cares about the deal as much as you do. For the agents, brokers, banks, and title companies, they do this every single day and it’s easy for a buyer to feel like another sheet of paper in the stack.
I had this exact experience with SoFI and Better Mortgage who both “pre-approved” me, assured me I should go and place offers on properties, and then when my offer was accepted were both completely unreachable. After days of phone calls, I was later assured separately and by both lenders that I would never qualify for a mortgage due to my self-employment.
After almost giving up on the whole process, I found SELFi on Yelp and reached out to Joseph. He had an underwritten pre-approval for me within a couple days and got the deal done when nobody else could. In addition, he was super responsive, easy to get in touch with, and easy to work with. I cannot more clearly state my confidence in SELFi and enthusiasm to recommend them to anyone.

Patrick
5.0 rating
July 9, 2019

Joseph did an excellent job on my refinance. The rate he got me was outstanding! In addition, Joseph is highly responsive and walked me through the whole process seamlessly. I’ve used other brokers in the past and Joseph is head and shoulders above them all. I would highly recommend Joseph and SELFi. Thanks again!
–K.P.

Katherine Pratt
5.0 rating
June 29, 2019

Two weeks ago I closed escrow and it was Joseph’s hard work that made it possible. Got me good rates give me credit on closing cost so I only had to come up with a 5% down payment. I do regret one thing, not working with him on my purchase my other properties. Highly recommended he knows his stuff and he’s very organized. Definitely will be working together soon.

Dereje alemu
5.0 rating
June 29, 2019

I highly recommend SELFi to everyone. I had an excellent experience with Joseph Flannery. Joseph is an expert in mortgage refinancing/loans. He was able to find a solution for me when other lenders were not. He was able to meet my tight deadlines on both my mortgages. He has been very responsive and kept me informed through out.

Sunita Singh
5.0 rating
June 20, 2019

Besides been a humble person, Joseph Flannery is very knowledgeable on his mortgage products. He makes sure his clients have a peace of mind during the process.
•Everything goes smoothly.
•Always keeping you informed in advance of the process.
•Very reliable.
I highly recommend anyone to work with Joseph. I look forward to our next transaction.
– Ignacio Casillas (Realtor).

Ignacio Casillas
5.0 rating
June 10, 2019

Working with Joseph on our refi was a lifesaver. Not only is he very responsive and knowledgeable, but he worked hard to get us our refi. We started out with an FHA refi, but were able to get a conventional in the end. If not for his patience and knowledge- I probably would have given up early on in the process.
I never thought that this would be a painless process, but Joseph made it pretty close to pain free. If I need to use a broker in the future, it will definitely be SelFi.
thanks for all your hard work!

juliet markeson
5.0 rating
May 21, 2019

I worked with Erica on my recent refinance. I contacted a lot of people, and got numerous estimates. Erica always came out with the best rates. More than just giving me the best rates, Erica really made me feel like she cared that I was making the right decisions for my goals. She listened and provided guidance. She taught me a lot about real estate during this process, and opened my eyes to some options that I had never realized were possible. She was always quick to respond, and I’m so grateful I found her and Selfi.
Should I or anyone I know need real estate advice or financial assistance I will definitely be reaching out to Erica and Selfi. Thank you Erica!

Amy D.
5.0 rating
May 15, 2019

Joseph was wonderful in helping us with our refi! It was very easy to apply online and refi was quick. We closed in a few weeks! I will definitely recommend him to my friends!

Carlos
5.0 rating
May 14, 2019

Joseph helped me buy my first home! Other lenders told me no, but he was able to find a way.

Bethel A.
5.0 rating
May 1, 2019

I enjoyed working with Joseph on the purchase of my property. It was a difficult transaction made much easier by his persistence, excellent communication, and an amazing interest-rate. I have already recommended him to other friends and family and can’t wait to use him again in the future.

Nathan A.
5.0 rating
April 16, 2019

Joseph was phenomenal through the entire process. The little things, such responding almost immediately to confirm a receipt of a document, added up to a wonderful experience. This entire refinance process is foreign to me. On top of that, this was a complex situation (multiple homeowners of a home that was held by third parties in a trust), so I put the process off for a long time. However, Joseph stepped in and was a superstar.
He watered it down to plain English and made it very easy for me to understand. I cannot praise Joseph enough for his patience, attention to detail, and going the extra mile to get my deal done. It is my utmost pleasure to recommend Joseph to help you in all of your financing and refinancing needs. I will definitely be using SELFi again.

Hao Nguyen
5.0 rating
April 16, 2019

SELFi enabled me to purchase in San Francisco with only 5% down… I didn’t even know that was possible! My loan application was with Quicken Loans and the process was very straight-forward. The loan took around 18 days to close. Joseph got me a lender credit to cover all closing costs, including property taxes and insurance so my out-of-pocket was only my down payment. I’m now telling everyone you can purchase in San Francisco with only 5% down.

Miriam A.
5.0 rating
March 27, 2019

Joseph helped my Buyer clients with a really difficult REO. He shopped for the lowest rate possible, and when complications came up, and the loan was declined, he helped shop two other lenders. He was with them every step of the way, and made sure the loan closed on time. My clients are so happy with their new home! I’ve already recommended him to all my other prospective buyers, and my previous buyers who are looking to refi. I can’t wait to work with him again.

Jean Aldinger
5.0 rating
March 27, 2019

After a terrible experience with my original lender AND my first refinance, I was pleased to work with Joseph. He was very patient with my questions and kept me informed throughout the refinance process. The transaction was smooth and timely. I will definitely be coming back to him for future mortgage needs and I highly recommend him.

Joel
5.0 rating
March 26, 2019

I had a great experience working with Joseph. I was faced with a situation that I wasn’t sure how to handle. Joseph discussed my different options with me before I even had an application in process. He was quick to answer my questions and respond to my emails. Once I began the process, it closed very quickly. I will be contacting Joseph for all my future mortgage needs.

carol ortega
5.0 rating
March 18, 2019

We’ve worked with a few different mortgage companies and brokers over the years, and Joe was hands down the best. Not only was he thoughtful, kind, responsive in keeping our refi process on track and answering our many questions, but he delivered on SELFi’s stated promise of saving us money with lower rates … saving $4,000 at closing and in the range of $50,000 over the life of our loan with our reduced monthly mortgage bill. He’s a breath of fresh air – a financial professional with his heart (not greed) in the right place to help the average person pay less. I’ve already started recommending SELFi and Joe to friends, family, and co-workers looking to refi or buy a home. Thanks Joe!

Jack M.

Join the SELFi marketplace and grow your business. Our marketplace provides direct access to customers looking for solutions, not sales.